Easiest low carb coconut macaroon recipe – ever!

27 Jun

I, am what you would call a ‘savoury person’.  While my other half craves all the sugar and sweet things there are available, I match him point for point in savoury salty alternatives.  However, as long term followers of this way of eating may agree, even those with the least tendancies towards being sweet toothed can break after the months roll by with continual denial of all things sugary.  Like the age old adage goes, the more you deny yourself something, the more you want it.

And so I found myself today, battling the urge to make a cake (for my boyfriend you understand.. if I happened to ‘taste’ some of the mixture along route, than that surely wouldn’t count?) – hmmm.  Anyway, in the nick of time I discovered this coconut macaroon recipe via pig2twig.  I amended it slightly because, lover of salt though I am, I have been burned before by persuading myself I will like a salty version of a cake and am being good to exclude the sweet element, only to experience crushing disspointment on tasting the final product, rather akin to how my four year old self felt when tasting food creations made out of play dough to find they are not the real thing : )

Anyway, these are great and alongside the salt I finished off by adding a TINY SPRINKLING of splenda on top of each biscuit pre-cooking.  I am not a fan of the splenda after taste, but a tiny bit here provides none of that, sets it off just nicely and provides the sugar hit you’re looking for.

I've gotta lurverly bunch of coconut (macaroons)

You will need:

  • One (large ) egg – separated to get the white only
  • Desiccated coconut (approx two handfuls)
  • Pinch of salt
  • TINY amount of Splenda

Method:

In a clean dry bowl, whisk egg white and salt until stiff peaks have formed

Gradually add in desiccated coconut until you have a mixture with  a thick consistency you can mould

Line a baking tray with greaseproof paper and fashion 5-6 rounds

sprinkle the tiny amount of Splenda on each

Bake at 200 degrees C for approx 10 mins

Enjoy!

These are relatively guilt free and are not so moreish you can’t stop at just one.  However, my mind has already started wandering to reflect on how these would also be good with some (70% cocoa or higher!) chocolate drizzled on top too… yum.

Leave a Reply

